M.J. Hyland http://www.mjhyland.com

M.J. Hyland


M.J Hyland is an ex-lawyer and the author of three multi-award-winning novels: How the Light Gets In (2004), Carry Me Down (2006) and This is How (2009). Carry Me Down (2006) was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize and won both the Hawthornden Prize and the Encore Prize. M.J Hyland has twice been longlisted for the Orange Prize (2004 and 2009), the Commonwealth Writers' Prize (2004 and 2007) and This is How (2009) was also longlisted for the Dublin International IMPAC prize. M.J Hyland is also a lecturer in Creative Writing in the Centre for New Writing at the University of Manchester where she runs fiction workshops, alongside Martin Amis (2007-2010), Colm Tóibín (2010-2011) and Jeanette Winterson (2013 - ). M.J Hyland also runs regular Fiction Masterclasses in the Guardian Masterclass Programme, and has twice been shortlisted for the BBC Short Story Prize (2011 and 2012). She also publishes in the Guardian 'How to Write' series, and has written nonfiction for the Financial Times, Granta, the New Yorker and elsewhere. M.J Hyland is also co-founder of the Hyland & Byrne Editing Firm (see - www.editingfirm & www.mjhyland.com)

  • This Is How


    MJ Hyland talks to the Guardian about her latest novel, This Is How, and writing under the spotlight.

  • Hardy Animal


    The author speaks to Granta magazine about her battle with Multiple Sclerosis.

  • MJ Hyland's Website


    Keep up to date with all the author's news, releases and events.

  • BBC International Short Story Award


    Read the story shortlisted for the BBC National Short Story Award.

  • Hyland & Byrne Editing Firm


    Expert editing, appraisals, mentoring and plot doctoring.

Books↑ Top