Margaret Drabble

Margaret Drabble


Dame Margaret Drabble was born in Sheffield in 1939 and was educated at Newnham College, Cambridge. She is the author of eighteen novels including The Millstone, The Peppered Moth, the trilogy The Radiant Way, A Natural Curiosity and The Gates of Ivory, and most recently, the highly acclaimed The Pure Gold Baby. She has also written biographies, screenplays and was the editor of the Oxford Companion to English Literature. She was appointed CBE in 1980, and made DBE in the 2008 Honours list. She was also awarded the 2011 Golden PEN Award for a Lifetime's Distinguished Service to Literature. She is married to the biographer Michael Holroyd.

Books↑ Top

  • The Dark Flood Rises

    Drabble Margaret